The UCSF-John Muir Health Jean and Ken Hofmann Cancer Center at the Behring Pavilion is now open.  LEARN MORE >

Awards & Recognition

Magnet Award

magnet award

The nurses of John Muir Health Walnut Creek and Concord Medical Centers are proud to have received Magnet recognition from the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the highest and most prestigious distinction that a healthcare organization can achieve for nursing excellence and quality patient outcomes. We are committed to upholding all of the principles in the Magnet Model: Transformational Leadership, Structural Empowerment, Exemplary Professional Practice, and New Knowledge and Innovation.

See other Awards & Recognition


the daisy award

John Muir Health is proud to offer the DAISY Award as a way to honor the compassion and care our nurses provide their patients.  DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune SYstem. The DAISY Award was established by The DAISY Foundation in memory of J. Patrick Barnes, who died at 33 of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP).  The Barnes Family was profoundly touched by the compassionate care provided by the nursing staff who cared for Patrick. In his memory, they created this meaningful award so others can say thank you to nurses everywhere.

The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses was created to ensure that nurses know how deserving they are of our society's profound respect for the education, training, brainpower, and skill they put into their work, and especially for the care that they share with patients and families.

The DAISY Team Award is designed to honor collaboration by two or more people, led by a nurse, who identify and meet patient and/or patient family needs by going above and beyond the traditional role of nursing.

For more information on The DAISY Award, visit the DAISY Foundation website here.

To nominate a JMH nurse or a nurse-led JMH team, follow the links below for Concord Medical Center and Walnut Creek Medical Center


Annual Nursing and Interprofessional Team Awards

Every year, John Muir Health recognizes nurses and interprofessional partners for the excellent care they bring to their patients and their families as well as the expertise and support they share with their colleagues. Award winners are celebrated for their commitment to standards of care, performance improvement, and sustaining excellent patient outcomes through superior skills, team work, caring and compassion for patients and families. 

Recipients of the following awards are nominated and selected by their peers:

  • Nightingale - Clinical Nurse as Leader
  • Nightingale - Clinical Excellence & Quality
  • Nightingale - Teaching & Professional Development
  • Nightingale - Advocacy for Innovation and Evidence-Based Practices
  • Honorary Nurse of the Year Award
  • Compassionate Leader Award
  • Magnet Interprofessional Team Award